Skip to content

A Return to Lace

April 11, 2008

I’ve decided to start Muir. I’ve been looking for something to do with this Birkeland Bros. merino cashmere that I bought on my honeymoon that would reflect some of the lovely scenery we enjoyed while in Vancouver. I started a Shetland Shawl back in January, but it didn’t last very long. Muir has caught my eye lately. It seems like a very simple design, just leaves and straight lines, something right along the lines of what I was looking for.

When I bought this yarn it took me a while to choose the color, but when we were hiking in the forest nearly a week later I knew I’d picked the right one. This foresty yarn is clearly a vivid reminder of the trip, and a perfect choice for the Earth element.

So far, all my other Vancouver projects have been really successful, so I’m holding out lots of hope for this one.

In other news, I’m a little discouraged with my Hexacomb Cardigan. I tried it on last night after binding off and steam blocking the body and lo and behold, it doesn’t fit around my boobs. This makes no sense at all since I was knitting for my correct bust size and I got gauge. So at 2am, I balled the sweater up, threw it in the closet and cursed a whole lot before Mr. NotCharles convinced me that I should probably pet one of the cats and go to bed. Purring cures all. It sounds a little mental to be steam blocking at 2am anyway, let alone knitting important things.

So, the sweater is taking a little time out while I figure out my next move. This is usually what happens when I get frustrated with a project, and coincidentally it’s also what happens whenever I try to knit a sweater. I’m thinking I should stick to what I know (socks and lace), but that’s not really very challenging in the long run. Spending time to knit things that don’t fit me is really annoying though, not to mention a waste of money and good yarn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

