Skip to content

A Successful Knit

April 13, 2008
tags:

In my brief history of being a knitter, I still can’t spot a successful knit from it’s starting point. I’m thinking maybe this is because one of the things that makes it a “success” for me is the element of surprise.

Take my Swallowtail for instance. It took nine days and was the most gorgeous piece of knitting I had ever made. All this out of a wayward skein of Handmaiden Seasilk that I bought on a whim one day while skipping class and which started out as a Montego Bay Scarf that I was going to wear at my wedding.

Or my Mermaid gloves, started just to see if they’d work, and knit from a mistake skein of Yarn Pirate during my super hectic Christmas holidays. I wore them all winter long and every time I slip them on or off, someone will ooh and ahh over them without fail.

Then there’s the Kusha Scarf. It’s been lingering on the needles for about four months now. It’s an amazing mix of Malabrigo Laceweight and Habu Stainless Silk loosely based on this pattern. I got tired of knitting it around the beginning of February and then picked it up again last night when I was searching for something to finish.

Let me tell you, Malabrigo Laceweight felts at light speed. All you need is 20 minutes, super hot water, a dash of liquid soap and some friction.

I’m so happy with the way this came out. I’m not sure you can see it from the photos, but since it wasn’t really long enough for scarfiness I turned it into a neckpiece. It’s felty and warm without being bulky and I’ve been wearing it all day. As a bonus it’s brightly colored and goes well with green. I forsee a lot of neck time for this scarf. The grey Stainless Silk almost looks like chain mail which makes me feel all medieval, or all Joan of Arc or something.

I love green and purple together, don’t you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2008 11:10 pm

    Green and purple are great together. I heart that shade of green of your sweater! The colors on the scarf are nice too!

Leave a Reply

