Skip to content

Hexacoma

May 3, 2008

As I mentioned the other day, I finished my Hexacomb Cardigan, and I have to say that I would not have finished it so quickly without the help of Ysolda. I finished all the knitting right as she arrived to stay for a few days and having her expertise to guide me through the tricky finishing bits that I’m always so apprehensive about really helped. I didn’t even entertain the idea of tossing the sweater aside for another week while I worked up the courage to sew seams and attach sleeves as I’m sure I would have if it I was the only knitter on my couch at the time.

I still haven’t sewn on the buttons, but they’ll come eventually. (I have much more to say about buttons later on.) For now I’m happy with the pin at the top, which is one that I made at summer camp when I was about 14. (The bottom isn’t as uneven as it looks here, it’s just because of my body angle and the way the sweater is pinned at the top.)

For those keeping track, this is the Hexacomb Cardigan from IK Spring ’08, knit in Reynolds Whiskey Tobacco & Plum colorways (purchased at Ariadne) on a size US4 circular needle. It took twenty five days to finish, with about a week in time out if you remember.

This one’s a winner. I’m really happy I took the time to do all the finishing the right way (attatching the first sleeve took three tries) because this sweater really looks polished as a result.

And the glamour shot…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2008 12:32 pm

    That’s an awesome sweater. I’m happy to see such a fabulous use of the Whiskey. I hope you’ve had people ask you where you bought it. πŸ˜›

  2. May 5, 2008 11:16 am

    love the glam shot. it looks great, you did a really good job. the colour also looks perfect on you.

  3. May 5, 2008 11:33 am

    I admire your courage to dip into another sweater project. I so want to become good about sweater knitting, but I gotta say, I fear to start, spend long time and then being quite so-so about the result. Plus, I feel there is a lot to learn when you entertain the idea of sweater knitting. I guess that I should just face my fears. Right? πŸ˜•

Leave a Reply

