Skip to content

Earth ATCs

May 7, 2008

Today’s the day I send out my ATCs for the Earth Element swap. I’m really happy with my designs for this round. I planned on carving a stamp the entire size of the ATC and the finished object is exactly the sort of thing I envisioned.

I carved the stamp with only a few plans in mind, that top spiral being one of them, and all the other lines just followed along. This was the really fun part. It was so much easier to do than trying to match a design I had sketched out, which I find incredibly frustrating.

I layered different colors of ink on the paper and the stamp to get two different looking designs. The second one I stamped twice since the first one wasn’t very clear.

I already received one of my ATCs the other day from Meagan of Krazyquilts. The whole thing is quilted and the stems of the leaves are little beads. It really seems like a lot of work went into this tiny piece. Thanks, Meagan!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2008 10:04 am

    Thanks for the nice compliments about the ATC I made for you. I’m so glad you like it! I hope you had a lot of fun making your ATC. It certainly looks really cool! Thanks again!

  2. May 16, 2008 6:22 am

    Hi Amanda,
    It’s Kristin here – I received one of your lovely ATCs! It came last week – just when Sock Wars started, so I’m afraid I didn’t get around to posting a comment about it sooner.

    I really like it! It’s very different from mine (a different medium to start with), and I think that is what makes the ATC swap so much fun. I missed the ‘Fire’ signup, but I’m really glad I signed up for this one! My other card hasn’t arrived yet (but Scottish Royal Mail is seriously slow sometimes), but I wonder whether it’ll be anything like your’s 🙂

    Anyway, thanks again. It’s much appreciated!

    Happy knitting! (And happy summer-of-socks-ing; I’m also taking part 🙂 )

    Kristin / ossianknits

  3. August 1, 2008 5:09 am

    Your work is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

