Skip to content

Summer sewing…

May 23, 2008
tags:

I feel like I’m a little behind on some sewing projects I planned for the last month. It seems like I have shelves of “to do” sewing, including remaking a bunch of unwanted clothes into something fantastic and totally wearable. It takes a lot more concentration than I’ve been capable of lately.

But ever since Sir NotCharles and I booked our vacation the other day I’ve been fantasizing about making a dress out of some of my birthday fabric. I went and bought several patterns today, though it seems that my preference for very full skirts is going to require a lot more fabric than I have in my small stash.

The one all the way on the left is the one I’m making first because it’s the only one that will take less than the 2 & 3/4 yards I already have of the above mentioned fabric. Unfortunately, I won’t get to start the dress this weekend. Tomorrow is another one of those girly crafty days (we’re making paper!) and Sunday is Free Museum Day, which pretty much inaugurates the Montreal Festival Season for me. Beerfest, Tour de l’ile/Tour la nuit, Fringe and Jazz Fest are all on the near horizon, with a million mini festivals in between. Summer in this sweet, sweet city is always so dizzying and feels so good after all those months of cozy winter hibernation. I’m ready!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 11:53 am

    Okay, I’m jealous! Paper-making, free museums, Jazz Fest and a new dress with a full skirt… you are having a fabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

