Skip to content

Pick up sticks

June 4, 2008

After a weekend of not knitting at all I’ve picked up the sticks again and cast on a Ganomy Hat yesterday. I’m loving the yarn (Noro Silver Thaw) that I’ve had in my stash untouched for three years. It seems to have been waiting for me to discover Elizabeth Zimmermann’s books because it’s a match made in heaven. No pictures yet, but they’ll be forthcoming…

I want to talk about an Air worthy project though, one I finished way back in March right after that giant, crazy snow storm we had when a dear friend came to town. (Luckily he’s way better with a camera than Mr. Not Charles is, so I got a decent photo shoot out of it).

This shirt is from the Simplicity 3835 pattern. Originally it was going to be a tunic, but the fabric was too overwhelming to cover that much of my body so I hemmed it a bit. The shirt is so comfy and fits so much better than something I could have bought. Actually, I’d never even try on a shirt like this in a store because it would probably be ill fitting and too short.

The fabric is Joel Dewberry Pear Manzanita Branch, which was one of my birthday presents to myself. I’d totally make this shirt pattern again. It was easy and came out great for a first garment project.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 7:42 pm

    Hey that looks great!

Leave a Reply

