Skip to content

Ganomy

June 8, 2008
tags: ,

Within the last few months I’ve bought several Elizabeth Zimmermann books and I’m slowly enjoying reading my way through them. They’re full of all kinds of humor, common sense and knitting logic.

According to the Knitter’s Almanac, June is the perfect time for knitting wool hats, so I cast on for Ganomy this past Monday. I used the Noro Silver Thaw I’ve had in my stash for three years and it went really quickly. Silver Thaw really is awesome stuff and the hat will keep my head super warm when the time comes to wear it, though that time is obviously not this weekend since the temperatures are hovering around 30°C/86°F.

I had to put the hat on today for the photo shoot though.

I love it a lot and I want to make 1,000 more, I just can’t bear the thought of wearing them right now.

A lot of Ravelers have tried to make the weird little pouf on top disappear. I did a pretty good job of getting rid of mine by stopping the increases in front and the back when the pattern said to and then decreasing in the front when the distance between the three decrease sections seemed about equal. (If that doesn’t make sense to you, leave a comment with any questions you have and I’ll try my best to answer them).

One Comment leave one →
  1. chloe permalink
    April 10, 2009 10:35 pm

    What a great job!!!!Your hat is perfect!!!
    I hope I can knit one just like it for my granddaughter.
    Any more details to share regarding the crown? We really like the way you made the pointy top disappear.

Leave a Reply

