Skip to content

HHHH questionnaire

July 1, 2008

I’ve joined HHHH. I waited until the very last minute to do so, mostly after noticing that several other bloggers were doing it and that many of them considered themselves beginners too. And even though I’ll be away most of July I think I can still swing it.

1. How long have you been spinning? What skill level do you consider yourself?

I’ve been spinning with a drop spindle for almost two years, I just got a wheel in May. I consider myself a beginner/intermediate spinner. I still have a lot to learn, but I’ve also made some gorgeous stuff.

2. What kinds of yarn do you create (singles/2-ply/3-ply/art yarn)?

I prefer spinning 3-ply or 2-ply, depending on how much fiber I have. I’m not really a fan of my own singles and I’ve never tried art yarn.

3. What do you spin with (spindle/wheel/both)?

I have two Louet drop spindles and a single treadle Fricke wheel. Since getting the wheel I haven’t touched the spindles!

4. What are your favorite fibers to spin with? Anything you don’t like?

I love BFL and Pigeonroof Studios superwash merino (I’ve tried other merinos and didn’t care for them as much). I didn’t really enjoy spinning from a silk hankie the one time I tried it.

5. Who are your favorite crack dealers fiber sources (etsy or otherwise)?

I love Pigeonroof Studios and Spunky Eclectic.

6. What kind of fiber do you want to try?

I’d love to try a bamboo or tencel blend. I’d also love to spin up some pencil roving, though I’ve never seen it in any colors I really loved. I’d also like to try fiber from Gherkins Bucket, Squoosh or The Fiber Denn,

7. Is there any techniques you would like to learn?

Nothing I can think of.

8. Do you dye fiber? If not, would you like to learn?

I tried once and didn’t really enjoy it.

9. Do you have fiber prep tools (and like to use them) or would you prefer ready to spin fiber?

I don’t have any prep tools and I’m not all that interested in doing the prep work. I’d prefer ready to spin fiber!

10. What do you do with your handspun? What projects have you completed?

Honestly, most of it is sitting in a box looking pretty, but I have made a hat, a headband and most of a BSJ.

11. Are you in need of any spinning gadgets (WPI Gauge, threading hook, etc)?

A WPI gauge would probably come in handy, but I can’t really think of anything else I really need.

12. What colors “fall into your shopping basket”? Any colors you just can’t stand?

Plummy purples, springy greens and golden yellows. I prefer bold jewel tones and generally don’t really like pastels or muted colors.

13. What is on your wheel/spindle right now?

It’s empty, but I have a bunch of fiber from spaceromantic waiting to go.

14. What other crafts/hobbies do you have?

Knitting, naturally. Also sewing, photography and biking.

15. Other than crafts, what are you passionate about?

I have a degree in linguistics and I’m generally passionate about Quebec French.

16. Do you have an online wishlist?

I have an Amazon Wishlist.

17. Is there anything that you collect?

Fiber, yarn & fabric.

18. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What magazine subscriptions do you have?

I’d love a copy of A Fine Fleece.

19. When is your birthday?

February 3rd.

20. What book or movie character do you most resemble in personality?

I have no idea.

21. What is the climate like where you live around this time (need to know for careful shipments of anything meltable)?

Generally hot & humid. It’s been mild so far this year but it wouldn’t surprise me if temperatures hit 30°C at one point. I wouldn’t send anything melty.

22. Tell us one weird fact about yourself!

I’ve been cutting my own hair for a year and my latest inspiration came from late night boredom and the book Jazz Age Beauties.

Favorites
Painting/picture(link):
mostly anything by Tamara Lempicka

Candy: plain & simple chocolate (both dark & milk)

Food: I’m an adventurous vegetarian, meaning I’ll eat most anything providing it doesn’t involve animals.

Drink: Beer! Mostly local microbrewed stuff.

Movie(s): Wes Anderson / Tim Burton / Coen Brothers stuff. I like my drama light and my comedy dark. I also like lots of movies from the 1920s and 1930s.

TV Show(s): The Simpsons is a longtime favorite.

Book(s): Most things Atwood, Winterson, Calvino & Eugenides.

Guilty Pleasure(s): daytime TV

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

