Skip to content

Muir

July 3, 2008
tags:

Muir, aka the Honeymoon Stole, is done!

And it’s coming with me tomorrow on my trip to Owen Sound to visit my inlaws. I used my new blocking wires to stretch it out and it now measures 29″ wide. I never measured the length, but it’s now pretty much the full length of the double bed I used for blocking. Had I measuerd it before blocking maybe you’d have something to compare that to.

The yarn (purchased at Birkeland Bros. in Vancouver) is a merino cashmere blend, so it’s super soft. I’m hoping it will keep me warm when I’m at the mercy of voracious air conditioning.

I’m pretty amazed that I knit this whole shawl without one mistake that went more than one pattern row undetected. The mesh background helped it go really quickly and the pattern became pretty intuitive after the third repeat. If I was a stitch short it was pretty easy to figure out where that extra stitch should be. That being said, there are non-lace-pattern errors I never fixed, like the first ten or so rows that have no picot edging because I didn’t even realize it was supposed to be there. Frankly I don’t even miss it, and no one will ever know but me. Onlookers will be too preoccupied with the fact that I knit a giant lace stole by hand. I’m pretty impressed I had the attention span for this, even if it did take the better part of 2.5 months and didn’t quite make it into the right PS3 element.

The photos are courtesy of Taylor, who dragged me out to the park on Canada Day when all I wanted to do was play French Scrabble on my balcony and drink beer. We did that too, and I won.

I’ve already started my next lace project, which may even be done by the time I get home from my next trip. She’s a speedy one. You’ll hopefully here from me before then though, or at least get a glimpse of some weekend knitting.

Bon voyage!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 4, 2008 2:49 am

    Lovely stole. I especially love the colour.

Leave a Reply

