Skip to content

Windward/Air Wrapup

July 31, 2008

As I imagined, the Air element was the least productive and least inspiring for me. I tried to stock up on yellow & grey yarns beforehand, but when the time came I had no desire to knit with them. Summer seems more suited to Water element knitting and I have a ton of those colors calling to me.

One super successful knit from this element though was my Windward hat though. I mentioned it before I went on vacation and finished it right before spending the day at the beach.

It protected my head from the sun (I always manage to get sunburned on my scalp, which hurts a lot) and looked cute too. I didn’t think I would have enough of the Louet MerLin to make the hat, since the pattern called for 390 yds and I only had 250, but it turns out that my gauge (which I totally didn’t check beforehand because I like danger) was fine as long as I did one less pattern repeat than my size called for. It was a complete case of hat surprise.

I’m really interested in making more hats from Wooly Wormhead. I like the short row technique and the kitchener seaming doesn’t bother me as much as it does some. You kind of get into a rythym with it after a while.

The Windward hat also makes a good canoeing hat. We went canoeing on the last day of vacation and though my arms really hurt the next day, I’d happily go canoeing again soon if I knew of an easily accessible place to do it around here.

The river we canoed down was one of the clearest I’ve ever seen, which is a perfect intro to the Water element. I have so many projects planned for this element and luckily many of them have already been started. There’s a Pi Shawl, Socks & a Sweater in the works, and skads of other things. I have so much purple, blue and black yarn!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2008 1:32 pm

    It depends how much time you have… I have a book that suggests a couple of easy river/lake trips in Mont-Tremblant, but they’re overnight trips (and Mont-Tremblant is far enough away that you wouldn’t want to drive there, canoe, and drive back in one day.)

    I haven’t been canoeing since 2006 and I miss it… if you’re interested I’d totally be up for one of those trips on a weekend in September – the complication being that canoe trips need an even number and Robin isn’t interested.

  2. August 1, 2008 6:18 am

    ‘Air’ was difficult for me too. The only air project I made was a pair of sock wars socks in a yarn I didn’t pick (but that fitted).

  3. August 2, 2008 5:02 pm

    The hat is super cute!

    I went to Jacob and got a free pair of the pants that I was admiring that you were wearing. Story on my blog!

Leave a Reply

