Skip to content

muffins

August 26, 2008

I know you’re interested in hearing more about the recipe for the muffins I mentioned in my last post, so here goes.

The recipe is modified from a vegan cookbook. I deveganized it by using eggs. I also made a few other changes.

Mix 2 cups whole wheat flour with 1/2 tsp salt and 3 tsp baking powder. Add 1/2 brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1/4 oil (I use canola) and 3/4 cup milk (cow or soy) mixed with 1 tsp white vinegar. Finally, add 1 & 1/2 cups fruit. I find it also works to add a banana and a cup of a different fruit. I’ve also added 1& 1/4 cups pineapple with 1/2 cup shredded coconut for pina colada muffins. You can play with the fruit amounts and combos and add things like nuts and flax seeds on a whim.

Bake them at 350°F in the oven you were supposed to have preheated before starting to cook muffins. They take 35 minutes in my oven. Fresh from the oven muffins are a super yummy breakfast and go great with coffee. If your muffins are going to be around for longer than two days I suggest you refrigerate them. They’re pretty moist and can start to grow things on them if you don’t.

As for my knitting, help is on the way for my sweater and my Pi shawl is s-l-o-w-l-y getting a border. I also have three projects I can’t talk about yet, but they’ll be revealed in the next two weeks or so. Keep an eye out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:28 am

    Why the vinegar? An acid, to activate the baking powder? With the eggs, do you still need it?

Leave a Reply

