Skip to content

whatever became of the schoolhouse vest?

October 26, 2008

As you remember, I made Stephanie Japel’s Back To School vest back in February, but I was never 100% in love with the finished product. So, I decided to rip it out a week or two ago and try out an Elizabeth Zimmermann pattern. I’ve bought four of her books so far and they’re so jam packed with information, techniques, ideas and encouragement that I like reading them even when I’m not following one of the patterns. I can’t really say that about any other knitting books. Most of the time text in knitting books is either a manifesto on design or a disjointed philosophy on the art of knitting, and while it sometimes makes for fine prose it doesn’t really speak to or inspire me as much as the idea of exploring garter stitch and shaping and really simple things that I can incorporate into keeping myself warm, which is the whle point this time of year.

Anyway, I knit the Rib Warmer from Knitting Workshop. It came out well and I even enjoyed seaming it, which is unheard of for me. I think it fits much better than the original vest did, and I also think it’ll work well to keep me warm right out of bed first thing in the morning.

In fact, I think I’m going to make some more…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

