Skip to content

lost in the forest

November 20, 2008

I’ve started the Deep In The Forest mittens three times now. Check out the huge gauge I was getting on 2.75mm needles.

I moved down to 2.25mm, back to 2.75 and then finally to a different set of 2.25 circular needles. Then last night, I ripped out most of the work I did yesterday (about eight rows of colorwork past the cuff) because the stranding on the sides was pulling in significantly and there was no way of fixing it without starting over.

I’ve never really done colorwork before, and it doesn’t strike me as something that’s impossibly difficult. In fact, I’m even managing to hold the different colors in different hands. It was awkward at first, but I picked it up quickly enough. I’m still not sure how to stop the sides from pulling in though. The whole thing is getting really frustrating. I just want pretty mittens now!

It’s suddenly unseasonably cold here, so I took the time to weave in the ends and seam up the armpits of my still zipperless 28Thirty yesterday. It was freezing inside the apartment, but hot coffee and Lamb’s Pride works wonders. My sweater may never get a zipper (I know my limits). It’s still pretty warm without it, it’s just not the outdoor fall jacket I first envisioned.

I also made it to 40,000 words with my NaNoWriMo novel last night. The goal of 50,000 is just within sight and I can absolutely make it there, hopefully by this weekend if I push myself. My rage at the awfulness of a certain vampire movie that has just been released is all the motivation I need to fill my 75 page Word document with 25 or so more pages of sheer awesomeness. It’s like turning bitter disappointment into sweet, sweet lemonade!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    November 20, 2008 4:43 pm

    I just finished my first stranded colorwork scarf and I was having the same problem. I did a few searches and found that:

    1) you have to knit way looser than normal with your dominant hand (the right in my case), and

    2) that every time you switch colors, spread out the stitches you’ve knit so far on the right needle. This’ll stretch the float more and keep the fabric from pulling in.

    I was careful to do these two things, and voila! No pulling, and a lovely even fabric.

  2. November 20, 2008 4:55 pm

    Hi! I saw your project in ravelry, and the pics look great!

    As for knitting stranded, I’ve found that when working with DPN’s or circulars, it might be best to work a few sts of the next needle everytime you go around. I am not sure how to explain this, but for example, if you have 60 sts when you begin, which is 15 sts per needle, begin first row by knitting 16 or 17 sts with needle 1, so 1 or 2 sts from the second needle to the first one. And then for the second needle, knit 1 or 2 sts from the third needle onto second needle and so on. And keep doing this all the way around, on every row, and this way you won’t have the “corners” where the floats pull in. (Mark the beginning of your row with a stitch marker)

    Eventually it is possible to maintain even floats even in those corners but this might help in the beginning. And if you have any problems or questions, do let me know and I’ll try to help 🙂

    Good luck,
    Tuulia

Leave a Reply

