Skip to content

thanksgiving

November 27, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

I tried to find the parade on TV, but all of our NBC stations were blocked out. I guess that’s what I get for living in a foreign country.

Anyway, I have a big pot of bean soup cooking on the stove. (That’s as close to a feast as we’re getting here.) And this means that I can start decorating and listening to Christmas music tomorrow.

Maybe stitch & bitch tonight… maybe not. I have sick traditions to uphold, you know. When I was a kid we’d always watch Home Alone on Thanksgiving night, but I don’t think I want to torture myself that much. I may just opt for Planes, Trains & Automobiles and a nice alcoholic beverage. Mr. NotCharles bought some egg nog last night and we do have all that Goldschlager left over from election night…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 1:50 pm

    I haven’t watched either of those movies since I was a kid, which I think is good for the former, but the latter I remember as really funny – might have to watch it again as an adult 🙂

  2. feygele permalink
    November 28, 2008 6:28 am

    I watched the parade for about 10 minutes yesterday morning. I was disappointed by how low to the ground the balloons were; I’ve never seen the parade before, but the way it’s been depicted in movies and on teevee over the years led me to believe that those balloons would be much higher up. And then one of the commentators started talking with their guest about a trip the two of them had taken to southern France ten years ago, and I couldn’t take it any longer. (The other commentator looked bored and lonely during that “interview.”)

    So I’d suggest that you didn’t actually miss anything.

Leave a Reply

