Skip to content

traveling

December 18, 2008

We’re off to Toronto today. Mr. NotCharles’ office Christmas party is going to be at a steakhouse, which will be interesting for me since I’m a vegetarian. I guess I’ll find something to eat there, I hope. At least I can console myself with an awesome vegetarian lunch. Toronto’s always good for that sort of thing.

I finished Habitat on Monday night and will be gifting it this weekend. Happily, the fit is much better this time. I found it helped to switch back to smaller DPNs for the end decreases. It prevented that weird cone thing from happening at the top of the hat. I also did it because I didn’t have a set of size 7 DPNs to continue with.

As you’ll remember, the yarn is Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed (a mix of wool, silk & cashmere) and works great for making cables without a cable needle and afterthought thumbs. I’d highly recommend it. Two balls were used for the pair of mittens and another two for the hat, with plenty to spare for the mittens’ trim.

I plan on making more of both of these patterns over my vacation, probably for myself. Gift knitting is fun, but it doesn’t keep you warm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

