Skip to content

frustrated

March 3, 2009
tags:

I was going to post today about a completed sewing project but I think my machine is broken. It’s probably my fault as it seems to be broken in the same exact way my mother’s was every time I sewed with it. I’m obviously doing something wrong somewhere. The bobbin is perpetually wrapped around itself and I can’t sew for more than an inch without everything getting jammed and a huge amount of thread getting stuck to the underside of the fabric.

I’m pretty much ready to throw the machine against the wall.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 3:43 pm

    I don’t think your machine is broken. This sounds like a tension issue. I had that problem all the time with a machine I borrowed from a friend before I got my own and both the friend and my mom said that tension was probably the issue. For some reason it’s not a problem I ever have on this one, so I’m not sure how to fix it. Maybe try some different settings for tension and see what works better.

  2. March 3, 2009 4:06 pm

    Sometimes it can also be that the bobbin thread gets sucked under when you start sewing, and it gets all tangled up on the underside of the fabric (at least, that happens to me all the time). I find it helps to hold the ends of the threads as you start sewing.

Leave a Reply

