Skip to content

sunshine

April 24, 2009

Mmm. I’m coming to you from a sunny balcony. It’s good to have the sun again and to have a computer that can survive for a little while without a power cord.

I started a sweater the other day from some Berocco Ultra Alpaca after finally blocking Coraline (knit in Ultra Alpaca Light) and then falling in love with how it smoothed out all the imperfections. It’s not a grand revelation, because this is what blocking is for, but it seems like magic every time it happens.

Anyway, the new sweater. I rushed right in without fully reading the pattern and was up until 4am knitting something I knew that I would probably end up ripping out. It seems like I just couldn’t help myself.

And speaking of blocking, I just just complaining to Mr. NotCharles yesterday how I had no room to block my latest bit of lace since we had a houseguest on the spare bed and what I really needed was those interlocking foam block thingies to avoid bed blocking entirely in situations like these. However, who wants to buy foam blocks when that money can be better spent on luscious silk and wool yarn? Not me.

Well, guess what I saw out my window a few hours ago between some garbage bags? Yup, you guessed it. Four interlocking foam blocks. I almost tripped over myself running out the door to snatch them up before anyone else could. Not that there’s a huge rush for garbage blocks, but whatever. I brought them inside as fast as I could and the rest is history. Now to wash them and block somw sweet, sweet lace.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

