Skip to content

May

May 23, 2009

It’s getting closer and closer to June and so I’m a little confused as to why I’ve come up with the idea to make a pair of mittens. I guess maybe I’m channeling Elizabeth Zimmermann (May is mitten month according to Knitter’s Almanac), although, it’s probably more likely that I’m just looking for a reason to knit with more orange yarn.

I think I have a little orange problem. Three or four years ago I was all about the green, but now everything new is a delicious shade of orange. The yarn is Sweet Paprika Messa di Voce sock in Blood Orange. The Sweet Paprika ladies really know how to make an orange you can fall in love with. I bought this yarn almost a year ago, back before my love for orange was even realized, but I’m thinking having this yarn in my stash all that time played a big part in the love affair.

I’m thinking of making these, mostly inspired by these. Once I saw these mittens knit in sock yarn I realized what my purpose in life was, at least for the next week or so.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

