Skip to content

spinning update

July 8, 2009

About a year and a half ago I was knitting up a Baby Surprise Jacket from some handspun. I ran out of fiber before then end, and even though some more had been handdyed for me I never did pick the jacket up again. I made that little blue sweater from different handspun instead for the intended baby and unraveled the BSJ entirely.

Sometime in mid June though, I picked that handspun up again and decided to whip up a pair of socks. I always swore I’d never make handspun socks, especially since I know now how sad it is to get hole in handknit ones.

These socks, however, are strictly for wearing at home, after a day of being out in the cold. I’m looking forward to wearing them in the darker months.

Speaking of spinning, I decided to bring my spindle along on my first mini-vacation of the year and it was a success. I’m planning on bringing it again when I go away later this month. I’ve even been spindle spinning a bit at home. I thought I’d never get back into it now that I have a wheel, but there’s something quite comforting in spinning up fiber so slowly. I think it might be a lesson in patience.

I’ve been using March’s AVFKW club fiber, Manka’s Thicket.

It’s spinning up into a lovely heathered yarn that I’m hoping to make into a 3-ply, possibly with the wheel. I’ve never done a 3-ply on a spindle before and I’m not so sure how it would work.

I suppose I’ll find out though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 4:08 pm

    Those socks look so warm and cosy, love the colours.

Trackbacks

  1. nearly a week « lainevierge

Leave a Reply

