Skip to content

June Bug

August 9, 2009
tags:

I have new socks. I stopped working on socks for a few months because I had started a pair that was endlessly boring and I thought I had lost my mojo, but I cast on for a new pair while looking for something to knit while reading. (FYI, knitting while reading is the next best thing in multitasking. I’ve read 20 books so far this year and I’m not stopping anytime soon.)

I decided to loosely base these socks on the Ridgeline Socks from New Pathways For Sock Knitters. I really love all the pre-heel increasing techniques in that book. I never realized you could pretty much put the increases anywhere around the foot.

I was interested to see how increases on the top of the foot would change the striping in the yarn and I really like how it came out. I did a slip stitch pattern on the cuff to break up the pooling a bit.

Maybe it’s just because I haven’t made a pair of socks for myself in a while, but I love these. I love the tiger-stripeyness of the colorway and the reinforced heel that Cat Bordhi writes into her patterns. New Pathways has definitely become one of my go-to sock books.

The yarn is Yarn Pirate June Bug, possibly the best colorway from last year’s Booty Club.

I can’t wait until the weather gets cooler so I can wear these all the time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

