Skip to content

ceilings

August 21, 2009

While traveling down the east coast on my little Tori Amos follow-along, I got to visit some venues that I first visited a long time ago.

My first trip to Radio City was in the summer of 1985 when I saw Return To Oz on the big screen. I remember that we sat in one of the balconies, and that the size of everything in sight was quite breathtaking. It still is. This time I bought a $10 gin & tonic before the show, not a price I would normally pay, but I like to think I paid for the Art Deco ambiance that I drank it in. I love how the ceiling glows and makes you feel so tiny. This photo was taken from my seat in the third mezzanine. So high up. I loved being able to see the stage with the ceiling framing it in such a gorgeous way. It was a lot different than the last time I saw Tori at Radio City, when I had a seat in the fifteenth row.

Before the show I took a subway line that I had never taken before and ended up walking through the underground tunnels that lead to Radio City Music Hall. I had pretty much forgotten that they even existed until I walked through them at that moment and remembered how exciting and glamorous it felt when I was ten to drink root beer floats with my cousin in one of the restaurants down there after seeing the Christmas Spectacular. Everything is still very black and shiny and reminds me so much of the view I had in my head of New York City in the 1980s.

I don’t remember what year it was when I saw the Nutcracker in the Count Basie Theater in Red Bank on a class trip, but I know it was also sometime in the 1980s and before the lovely renovations. I don’t remember the pretty ceiling here at all, but I certainly enjoyed sitting right under it this time around.

Count Basie was a much smaller venue than Radio City, and it was nice to see two concerts one night after the other in such different settings.

I’d have to admit though, I prefered the Red Bank setlist to the New York City one. So many of my favorites were included. Seeing a Tori show is always a really incredible experience for me, but it felt so fitting to have what felt like a setlist that whispered a more personal story in my ear for my last show of the tour.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 2:21 pm

    Tori Amos was the first artist to announce she’d be playing Scotland while I was off on holiday. I wish they’d plan further in advance 😉

Leave a Reply

