Skip to content

flowering basil

September 24, 2009

Now that autumn is here, my basil plant has been producing less and less leaves. For a few weeks there in the summer it seemed like the green basil leaves grew at an impossibly fast rate. The purple basil always had smaller leaves. Now the purple has even started to flower. Having never had a basil plant before I didn’t even know that was possible.

I had some friends over for dinner last night and we threw a few of the leaves in. Every time that happens I feel like it could be the last. Having a basil plant has been awesome though I doubt I would have ever bought one on my own.

Luckily, even though the basil production is tapering off, we still have at least another month of CSA shares to take advantage of.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

