Skip to content

reading update

November 18, 2009

I’m well on my way to finishing the Little House series. In fact, I just started the 4th book today. It’s odd, because I didn’t remember the actual Little House on the Prairie book itself (or any of what happened in it), but I remember something from all the others. Like the pig’s bladder toy from Little House in the Big Woods, or when the parents left the kids alone for a week in Farmer Boy, or living in the sod dugout in On the Banks of Plum Creek. I’m thinking that maybe I never read that book at all.

Also, I’ve been watching the Little House series (one episode per night) and I’m disturbed by the historical inaccuracies (mostly of the linguistic kind). As a child of the 80s, it’s a given that in my mind Melissa Gilbert and Michael Landon are inextricably linked with the Little House books, but I still find the series so weird after rereading some of the books. I don’t think I could separate the two as a child, but I’m certainly able to do it now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

