Skip to content

holidays

November 25, 2009

If I still lived in the US, I’d be celebrating a holiday tomorrow with lots of food and people I like. However, up here in Canada the “celebration” was over a month ago. (I use the word celebration lightly since in Quebec Thanksgiving is pretty much a non entity.)

As I’ve mentioned to some border hopping friends, Americans living in Canada really get the short end of the stick where Thanksgiving is concerned. Canadians living in America still get a day off for Columbus day, but here in Canada American Thanksgiving is just another Thursday.

So tomorrow, though nothing will change here, I’ll be thinking of my fellow Americans and remembering that once the clock strikes midnight it’s pretty much straight sailing to the next big holiday on both sides of the border.

That being said, since I’m on this side of the border at the moment, I can talk freely about Christmas as if nothing stands in my way. This year I plan to try to focus more on the solstice side of things and less on the Christian imagery the accompanies the holiday. I’m starting to do some vague research to try and incorporate more meaningful things into the holiday, mostly involving a focus on light since we’re passing through the darkest time of the year. I’m not sure if I can bring myself to call it something other than Christmas though, out of sheer force of habit, but I guess we’ll see how that unfolds.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 7:57 pm

    “Christmas” trees and bringing in greenery also have a pagan/solstice celebrating background.

    • lainevierge permalink*
      November 25, 2009 10:15 pm

      I was actually envisioning ways to avoid getting a tree this year since it seems like too much of a hassle. Don’t know if I can pull off a family Christmas without one though.

  2. November 25, 2009 8:13 pm

    It is a bit sad that Thanksgiving isn’t a bigger deal here. It makes sense why it should be earlier in Canada (having a harvest celebration in winter wouldn’t be quite right), but we Canadians could be a little more grateful for everything we have.

    Konstantin grew up atheist, and they had a tree for New Year’s Day (what they celebrated instead of Christmas). The whole holiday has been a bit weird for me since meeting him, since I don’t believe in the religious side of things, but really miss all my family traditions. Or perhaps I just miss my family.

Leave a Reply

