Skip to content

new scarves

January 27, 2010

The sun was out briefly this morning but not nearly enough for my liking. I realized a bit too late that I should have been taking picture of some knit things while I had the light for it.

Instead I’ll show you some things I finished a while ago. I the first one was finished so long ago that I can’t really believe I haven’t talked about it yet.

I made this Lacy Baktus out of some Noro Kureyon that I got for Christmas in 2005. I made the skeins into legwarmers, which I wore a few times. Then I ripped them out and knit them into a Meret in the fall of 2008. There are no pictures of that project because it was hideous. I found the Lacy Baktus pattern just before leaving Canada for the holidays this year and I thought it would be a perfect use for those wayward skeins of Noro and the perfect travel knitting since it was pretty straightforward.

This was the best thing I could have done for this yarn. I wore this so much while I was in the states. It was perfect for the very chilly day I spent walking around NYC (sometimes with the scarf over my mouth), Boston and everywhere in between. I love wide scarves, but I didn’t have the yardage for something wide and long. The pointed ends solve that awkward and annoying problem of having bulky rectangles of wool hanging over your chest which is something I really hate about most scarves. It’s also why I prefer triangular shawls to rectangular scarves. I liked this so much that I cast on for another immediately in some Pigeonroof handspun I brought with me for just that purpose.

I knew I had even less yardage for this one, so I started the two points at the same time and grafted them together at the center just before running out of yarn. It’s a smaller scarf and not one that I can wrap around my mouth but it does keep me warm and looks pretty.

Because this one is smaller it works better with a pin to keep it closed. It seems every time I go back to NJ with a new piece of knitwear the perfect pin is waiting in my aunt’s box of thrifted treasures. Looks like she found the perfect one for me again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 5:04 pm

    That butterfly is just too perfect. I love the greens of the handspun Baktus.

  2. January 31, 2010 6:39 am

    That butterfly is so pretty on the scarf.

Leave a Reply

