Skip to content

annis

June 7, 2010

Two weeks ago at the Spin In I fnally dug into a braid of Pigeonroof Superwash Merino that I had been holding onto for a year and a half. I spun it up as finely as I could and after washed it ended up as a sort of fingering weight.

Sometime in the middle of all the plying and washing the Knitty surprises were released and I had the brilliant idea to knit Annis from my handspun. I didn’t quite have the yardage the pattern called for, but I figured I’d be okay and started knitting it as soon as the new yarn was dry.

Annis in Caracol

The strip of lace at the bottom is knit first, and the rest is all stockinette short rows. It was really a great use of handspun, so soft and lovely to knit with, and it’s already receiving a lot of attention over on Flickr.

Caracol

I kind of want to make a million more. The designer has lots of other shawl patterns and I’m imagining making them in all sorts of handspun and laceweight leftovers and whatnot.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 10:27 am

    I think it’s going to get more. I just Tweeted it at Amy of Knitty.

  2. June 7, 2010 12:17 pm

    Love this shawl. I have forever been a fan of knit shawls (well, knit anything, really) but have absolutely no knitting skill at all, no matter how hard I try. Fated to admire other people’s work from afar, I suppose!

  3. KelleBelle permalink
    June 7, 2010 12:35 pm

    Oh, it’s gorgeous! And yes, Amy Knitty (I know that’s not her last name ha ha) has tweeted it out to the Twitterverse. I would expect many more comments to come! đŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention annis « lainevierge -- Topsy.com
  2. Project Awesome » Handspun Annis of my own

Leave a Reply

