Skip to content

quilty

August 3, 2010
tags: ,

On my recent trip to New York City I visited Purl Soho at their new location. As their website indicates it is a bigger store than the tiny one the used to have on Sullivan Street and all the yarn and fabric is now in the same building.

One of the things I bought was a grab bag of fabric in shades of yellow, which was meant to be the beginnings of a hexagon quilt. Up until this point I have only quilted once. That quilt is large enough to cover a cat. I plan on making the hexagon quilt at least large enough for an adult human. The hexagons will be about 2.5 inches on each side. What in the world could have possessed me to come up with this idea, you ask? Well, put simply, I became friends with Sarah.

Sarah’s hexagon quilt in progress was the talk of the table when she pulled it out during girl’s night last week. Even though all of us who hang out together are knitters somehow the idea of a quilt made out of 80 squillion (estimated number) of hexagons sent everyone reeling. But after hanging out with Sarah for a while you start to realize that crafty is crafty. If you want to think about the bigger picture why not take into account that I’m going to be making things for the rest of my life and in the grand scheme of things 80 squillion hexagons is just going to be something that fills in the blanks between knitting and embroidering and writing and cooking and spinning and petting cats. This project has no time limit and it justifies buying scraps of fabric I consider pretty. At the end I end up with a blanket. Seems like a good enough reason to me.

Here’s the catch, for the moment I’m sticking to this color scheme : golden yellows and dusty browns.

The three yellows and the graph paper-esque brown fabric were in the grab bag, the rest are fat quarters from my stash.

Sarah also may be the reason I now have an embroidery project in the works as well, and I may be the reason she now has the whole Camera Obscura discography on vinyl. At any rate, we’re off to a pretty good start.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 9:42 pm

    To be fair, I did already have the meager startings to a vinyl collection, the intent was just revived. Eventually I’ll have/inherit a stereo with turntable.

    But it’s ALL about the root beer drop!

    • August 3, 2010 9:43 pm

      Oh and for my project I calculated that I would need about 4,289 hexes for my final size. The math might have to be revisited.

  2. Ted C. permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:15 pm

    You’ll have to tell Mark about the hexagon quilt. He’ll be very excited.

  3. August 13, 2010 2:54 am

    Having a good excuse to buy pretty fabric was one of the most fun parts about working on my quilt!

Leave a Reply

