Skip to content

oh oh, sashiko

August 6, 2010

The other thing I bought at Purl Soho was a Sashiko sampler. It’s basically just a small square with an embroidery pattern printed on it. I haven’t done a whole lot of embroidery but it seemed like something I could handle. When the embroidery part is done you can make it into a pillow or a handkerchief or a wall hanging or whatever (there’s an identical piece of fabric to fold over the back so the stitches don’t show on that side). I’m not sure what mine will be. In my house a hand embroidered pillow would probably get destroyed by cats or humans trying to eat their dinner off of it. This is why we can’t have nice things.

I’m almost done with the embroidery and I’m pretty sure I’ll be buying more kits when I go back to Purl next weekend. It seems like it would be a nice gift, in theory. Does anyone I know want to receive a gift like this? Now’s your big chance. Leave a comment, friends.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 4:42 pm

    I think it looks great! (I don’t expect one, hehe, just wanted to let you know!)

  2. August 6, 2010 8:02 pm

    I knew Purl had a tutorial on their blog, but the kits look like an easier place to start. It’s very pretty and simple. I look forward to seeing it finished.

  3. August 6, 2010 11:41 pm

    Oh I love sashiko – and I love this pattern, especially on the white base. They make a great splash of something fantastic on the back of a quilt, for the record. Hidden away but a beautiful surprise!

  4. September 2, 2010 3:13 pm

    Did I miss my chance due to being away from the internets, first world luxuries, while I was in east Africa? If no one has claimed this, I would *love* it. It’s so nice! I would totally make it into a pillow.

    • lainevierge permalink*
      September 2, 2010 5:26 pm

      It’s still here. However, it’s much more pink than it appears in the photo and it does not scream Benjamin to me. I just bought a bunch more kits when I was in NY and so I think I have something that is far more suited to you. I just have to make it.

      How do we feel about ocean waves in navy and a very Benjamin light blue? It’s yours if you desire.

Leave a Reply

