Skip to content

gin fizz

September 2, 2010
tags:

Oh look, a finished piece of knitwear.

This post is LONG overdue. I bought the yarn for this lovely lacy scarf way back in January when I went to Windsor Button for the second time during my trip to Boston. I really wanted yarn to make Cherry Fizz and I finally found this colorway, which reminded me a whole lot of a dear friend who moved away right before the holidays. So I bought the yarn with her in mind and then didn’t get around to making the scarf until May. I posted a bit about it back in June, which is around when I finished it. It went quickly and silk/merino blends are always a joy to knit with (this particular one is Malabrigo Silky Wool), and in my opinion much more fun to knit than it will ever be to wear. However, when I went through my pile of giftknits last week and draped this one around my neck for a photo shoot I had a desperate and sudden urge to keep it for myself. After all, the recipient never even knew it was for her, so she’d never miss it, and it was so luscious and lovely, and it matched my dress…

In the end, generosity prevailed and I sent the scarf off to Amsterdam where it arrived in a matter of days. I’m totally making myself another one someday soon though. This yarn is too lovely to not knit more scarves with and even though this blue suits me just fine I’d probably pick a more vibrant color for myself.

I’ve named this scarf Gin Fizz, because the color reminded me of Bombay Sapphire. It turned into a bit of a nod to the gin-soaked girl’s nights we’ve been having all summer, even though we seem to prefer Tanqueray.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 2:32 pm

    Yeah…I’m such a gin snob. I really wish Bombay Saphire did it for me. I love me a square bottle and that lovely shade of blue (too bad it’s a plastic coating).

    • lainevierge permalink*
      September 2, 2010 4:29 pm

      It’s a pretty bottle but I agree, Tanqueray goes down easier.

  2. September 5, 2010 3:45 pm

    I’m a lucky girl. This scarf feels delightful and is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

