Skip to content

international sock swap goods

September 14, 2010
tags:

The one “big” knitting project I worked on this summer was my International Sock Swap Socks. I started them in late June and finished them a few weeks before the deadline at the end of August.

The point was to make a pair of socks with no heel and send them off to someone else. In turn, you would receive a similar package. I’ve never received handknit socks before, though I’ve made tons of pairs for myself. The fun part is adding the afterthought heels, which I’ve never done before. I sent my package to Indiana, and last week I got a package from Nebraska.

This is the only photo I have of the socks I sent. Hopefully, my partner will take some once she’s added her heels. I used the Charade pattern, but staggered the slip stitches every other row to break up the natural striping a bit. The yarn is Yarn Pirate Rebel.

My socks arrived last week. I don’t have any photos of them (I plan on doing a proper photo shoot once I’ve added the heels). But they came with a lovely bag of chocolates and a skein of pretty sock yarn in a very bright shade of coral. Just my style. Thanks swap partner!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susie permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:26 pm

    I’m so glad you like the socks! Can’t wait to see them with the heels put in!

Leave a Reply

