Skip to content

millefiore

February 1, 2011

Waaaaay back in the summer of 2008 I ordered some Pigeonroof fiber and ended up with an extra braid of Corriedale in the Millefiore colorway because of a shipping mix up.

Since this was a bonus braid of fiber, I decided to spin it up in a way I never had before. I split it up into long lengthwise strips and predrafted the life out of it and set it aside in separate “nests” of fiber.

Then I spun two of the predrafted nests together to make one worsted two-toned single. I did this mainly to play with the colors, but it turned out to be a technique that was useful for maintaining the same thickness throughout, which is something I have difficulty with when I’m not spinning as thin as I can go.

The single ended up being overspun, but I prefer to err on the side of caution. This skein then sat in my handspun stash for about a year and a half, so the twist had plenty of time to set. When I pulled it out to make a hat in December, I felt comfortable letting the yarn unravel foot by foot as I knit it because it had been sitting so long. The yarn became fluffier when it unraveled and I didn’t end up with a biased fabric as I had before when knitting with singles.

I am so happy with the way this hat came out. I’ve been wearing it as soon as it dried from blocking. I love the colors and really want to try this whole process again just to see how it would work out a second time.

The pattern I used is here. It’s super simple, but effective for yarn that has a lot of interesting color changes going on (I made one in Noro too for my mom). It also has a bit of texture to hold in warmth. I highly recommend it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

