Skip to content

eternal sweater angst

February 7, 2011

When you’re knitting a sweater it rarely goes easily. With me, I usually think it’s going fine until it’s time to try it on and then all hell breaks loose. Inevitably, something goes wrong somewhere.

Well, I’m now knitting a sweater in a yarn that is notorious for stretching like crazy once it is knit up and blocked. The thing is, I knew how this yarn behaved before going in and so I compensated in way that seems equally crazy. I chose the needle for the suggested gauge and then knit the sweater two sizes too small.

You think you know where I’m going with this? Not exactly. The sweater fits great so far. If it grows with blocking it will actually fit even better. The problem is that it seems like I have very far to go (a nice chunk of the body as well as two sleeves) and I only have two balls of yarn left. I’m kind of freaking out about this since the yarn was bought at a clearance sale back in early 2009. I want to continue knitting, but it seems like there’s so little yarn left… I’m almost afraid to continue.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sjt permalink
    February 7, 2011 8:07 pm

    I say go for it. There’s always eBay and Ravelry trades.

Leave a Reply

