Skip to content

arroyo

March 2, 2011
tags:

Gosh, it’s March already. Well here’s something that looks like Spring. I was looking for something to knit about a month ago, because as you know if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, I have a knitting problem. I need to always have something going.

I picked up this handspun, (Mrs. Tiggywinkle, which has a long and sordid past) and cast on for Arroyo. It’s another of those lovely half-circle shawls (like Annis and Hawthorne) which I find more wearable than their square and triangular counterparts.

I was knitting along happily through the lace and on to the garter stitch short rows when I ran out of handspun. Before panicking though, I dug in my shoebox of handspun leftovers and found a bit of silk & mystery fiber 3-ply that was sent to me as part of a swap back in 2008. I had only used a bit in the past as some trim for mittens, but since it seemed to go with the pink in Mrs. Tiggywinkle, I continued with that for a while until I ran out of yarn again. I dug in the stash once more, and this time I found some leftover baby alpaca from this project. I had plenty of that yarn to finish things off with and add an i-cord bind off, which was not part of the pattern but something that I fully endorse.

The result is a sort of gradient effect. In the above photo, the handspun BFL ends just about where the garter stitch begins, and if you look closely you can see where the silk/mystery fiber changes to baby alpaca (where there’s a slight color change).

I haven’t worn this scarf out yet, but that’s because it’s still winter here. We even had a whole lot of snow yesterday as a reminder. As always though, I am in no rush. It will be great to wear non-waterproof shoes again someday, but the waiting makes everything that much more worthwhile, don’t you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 11:28 am

    it looks great!

Leave a Reply

